USA Linux Users Group Forum Index

a poll for media server distribution
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Audio and Video Applications
View previous topic :: View next topic  
hakova

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2024 2:46 am    Post subject: a poll for media server distribution Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

Let me start by declaring myself as not maybe a total newbie, but somehow close to it. I have no programming background, and everything I learned, I learned by personal dedication and experience, which mostly is composed of stupid mistakes. Therefore, if you encounter any stupid questions from my part, please be gentle to me as much as you can Smile.

I am lucky to have an extra PC at home, which I use as a media and back-up server. It is a Pentium 4-HT, with 2 HDDs of 250 GBs set up with RAID1 (via motherboard). It is connected to my wireless network via a PCI card using RaLink rt61 chip. It sits next to my desktop PC under my desk, there is a KVM switch which lets me to switch back and fort using the same monitor, keyboard and mouse. It runs on Mandriva 2024.0, which is very stable I think. What it actually does as a media server is streaming audio playlists (10 simultaneously) to the LAN as mp3 streams, which in turn can be played back via my receiver downstairs like different radio channels. The receiver has a nic and it is connected to the wireless router via an ethernet cable. I use vlc for streaming and overall it does a good job, although I have a Kalarm setting that kills all vlc processes every 3 days and restarts them. If I don't do this then vlc somehow gets bloated and its performance decreases significantly, creating hiccups and more in the streams. The reason I chose Mandriva at the first place was because it was easy to install, it had a good hardware support (wireless card worked out of the box) and it was easy to configure with numerous friendly tools.