USA Linux Users Group Forum Index
Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search USA Linux Users Group Forum Index Album

How do you open files with spaces in them?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Command Line Commands
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eggmatters
Jr. Member


Joined: 17 Oct 2024
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 2:40 am    Post subject: How do you open files with spaces in them? Reply with quote

I have screwed up and have a few files with spaces in them. some I need to open, say with vi. so for example:

Code:

ls /home/homedir

my file
myfile

vi my file
bash: cd: my no such file or . . .


If I was to write:

vi my*

it will open both in vi but I still can't access the file with the space in it in vi

Is there a special character that I can use as a space char? Does Bash recognize escape sequences?

Sorry, it's a real dumb question I know. Sometimes I fortet to rename files with underscores before it's too late.

Thanks.



_________________
Debian Gnu/Linux 3.1 r2 "sarge"
kernel 2.6.8-2-i386
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
VHockey86
Advanced Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2024
Posts: 988
Location: Rochester

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can "escape" a space using the backslash character. When you have a backslash, it tells the shell to treat the next character literrally. So if your filename actually had a backslash in it, you would need two backslashes "\\" to represent a single backslash in the actual filename.

Code:

vi my\ file


or just type "my" and hit the tab keyand bash will autocomplete the rest of the filename (With the escape characters).



_________________
Main Desktops : Kubuntu 10.4. ArchLinux 64-bit. Windows7 64-bit. Windows XP 32-bit.

MacBook: OS X Snow Leopard (10.6)


Last edited by VHockey86 on Thu Feb 01, 2024 2:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mushroom
Ultimate Member


Joined: 29 Jun 2024
Posts: 2129
Location: Queen Charlotte B. C. Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try replacing the space with "%20"



_________________
SuSE 8.0, 8.2, 9.0, 9.1, 9.2, 9.3, 10.0, 10.1, 10.2, 10.3, 11.0, 11.1
Live CDs Mepis 8.0, Puppy 4.3.1, netbook- Zenwalk 6.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
crouse
Site Admin


Joined: 17 Apr 2024
Posts: 11833
Location: Iowa

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another easy is to simply use quotes --- easy to remember.
Code:
vi "my file"


That should do it.



_________________
Veronica - Arch Linux 64-bit -- Kernel 2.6.33.4-1
Archie/Jughead - Arch Linux 32-bit -- Kernel 2.6.33.4-1
Betty/Reggie - Arch Linux (VBox) 32-bit -- Kernel 2.6.33.4-1
BumbleBee - OpenSolaris-SunOS 5.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
BrionS
Sr. Member


Joined: 04 Jul 2024
Posts: 1074
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mushroom, do you mean changing the name to include %20? I tried
Code:
ls test%20file
and that gave me an error, but 'ls test\ file' works and so did 'ls "test file"'.

If you're changing the name, might as well change to it to use an underscore instead (or no space at all if it makes sense). %20 is just a URL encoded version of space and as far as I know only really works with URLs in a browser. On the other hand, reading a file name with %20 in place of spaces is in my opinion very hard to read.



_________________
Ubuntu 8.10 (64-bit), Ubuntu 7.10 (64-bit)
OpenFiler 2.2 (rPath Linux base), Mythbuntu 8.10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masinick
Linux Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2024
Posts: 8615
Location: Concord, NH

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 5:48 pm    Post subject: At least four solutions are possible Reply with quote

Here is what we have as wroking solutions:

1. vi my\ file

2. vi "my file"

(The use of %20 works only in URLs. I have never seen it work elsewhere.

Two more solutions are these:

3. Use a file manager, such as the KDE File Manager, the GNOME File Manager, Nautilus, or your favorite file manager. Rename the file using your file manager of choice or use that file manager to open, edit, run, or otherwise manipulate that file.

4. Often, however, you want to run things and you may not even have a GUI available. Worse, what if you are dealing with a "hidden file", those with . at the beginnning of the file name? For those cases, my favorite "Swiss Army Knife" comes to the rescue - GNU Emacs with the dired function. Dired, short for directory editor, can locate those weird files. You can then edit, rename, delete, edit, or whatever else you may want to do to that file.

Frankly, for me, I use option 4 more than any other one. It has worked for me for many years and has saved me from more than one disaster!



_________________
Brian Masinick
Distros: SimplyMEPIS
sidux - no CAPS!, antiX, Debian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
mmmna
. . . .


Joined: 21 Apr 2024
Posts: 7224

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VHockey86 wrote:
or just type "my" and hit the tab keyand bash will autocomplete the rest of the filename (With the escape characters).


Some distros I've used (Slack?) do not configure BASH to allow tab completion for files with spaces in the names....


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deuce868
Member


Joined: 04 May 2024
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should just be able to do vi .

Then l list the files in the directory and you can scroll up/down the list to pick the file you want to edit as well. It's a bit gui-like without the gui.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
copycon
New Member


Joined: 11 Mar 2024
Posts: 30
Location: USA, Michigan, Detroit

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2024 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I issue the command
Code:

vi .

it gives me an error saying
Code:

 . is a directory



_________________
Debian and Kubuntu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbilas
Advanced Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2024
Posts: 924
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2024 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might have plain old "vi" installed whilst vi . may work only on vim (VI iMproved). On my system /usr/bin/vi is symlinked to vim.



_________________
Arch Linux 2.6.24-ARCH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
copycon
New Member


Joined: 11 Mar 2024
Posts: 30
Location: USA, Michigan, Detroit

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2024 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I invoke vim implicitly I get the same response.

The system I am checking this on is Kubuntu Fiesty



_________________
Debian and Kubuntu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crouse
Site Admin


Joined: 17 Apr 2024
Posts: 11833
Location: Iowa

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2024 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mine looks like this:
Code:

" ============================================================================
" Netrw Directory Listing                                        (netrw v107)
"   /home/crouse
"   Sorted by      name
"   Sort sequence: [\/]$,\.h$,\.c$,\.cpp$,\.[a-np-z]$,*,\.info$,\.swp$,\.o$\.obj$,\.bak$
"   Quick Help: <F1>:help  -:go up dir  D:delete  R:rename  s:sort-by  x:exec
" ============================================================================
../
./
.StockWatch/
.adobe/
.baps/
.bashphonebook/
.bbips-old/
.bbips/
.bbots-old/
.bbots/
.beryl/
.bics/
.bluefish/
.cddb/
.config/
.dbus/
.dvdcss/
.dvdrip/
.fluxbox/
.fontconfig/
.gconf/
.gconfd/
.gimp-2.2/
.glchess/
.gnome2/
.gnome2_private/
.gnupg/
.gobby/
.ipython/
"." is a directory                                                                             8,1           Top



Code:


~
~                                               VIM - Vi IMproved
~
~                                                version 7.0.216
~                                           by Bram Moolenaar et al.
~                                  Vim is open source and freely distributable
~
~                                           Sponsor Vim development!
~                                type  :help sponsor<Enter>    for information
~
~                                type  :q<Enter>               to exit
~                                type  :help<Enter>  or  <F1>  for on-line help
~                                type  :help version7<Enter>   for version info




_________________
Veronica - Arch Linux 64-bit -- Kernel 2.6.33.4-1
Archie/Jughead - Arch Linux 32-bit -- Kernel 2.6.33.4-1
Betty/Reggie - Arch Linux (VBox) 32-bit -- Kernel 2.6.33.4-1
BumbleBee - OpenSolaris-SunOS 5.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
jbilas
Advanced Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2024
Posts: 924
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2024 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's my /etc/vimrc. You can paste it to ~/.vimrc and see if it makes any difference.
Code:

" An example for a vimrc file.
"
" Maintainer:   Bram Moolenaar <Bram@vim.org>
" Last change:  2024 Sep 19
"
" To use it, copy it to
"     for Unix and OS/2:  ~/.vimrc
"             for Amiga:  s:.vimrc
"  for MS-DOS and Win32:  $VIM\_vimrc
"           for OpenVMS:  sys$login:.vimrc

" When started as "evim", evim.vim will already have done these settings.
if v:progname =~? "evim"
  finish
endif

" Use Vim settings, rather then Vi settings (much better!).
" This must be first, because it changes other options as a side effect.
set nocompatible

" allow backspacing over everything in insert mode
set backspace=indent,eol,start

set history=50          " keep 50 lines of command line history
set ruler               " show the cursor position all the time
set showcmd             " display incomplete commands
set incsearch           " do incremental searching

" For Win32 GUI: remove 't' flag from 'guioptions': no tearoff menu entries
" let &guioptions = substitute(&guioptions, "t", "", "g")

" Don't use Ex mode, use Q for formatting
map Q gq

" This is an alternative that also works in block mode, but the deleted
" text is lost and it only works for putting the current register.
"vnoremap p "_dp

" Switch syntax highlighting on, when the terminal has colors
" Also switch on highlighting the last used search pattern.
if &t_Co > 2 || has("gui_running")
  syntax on
  set hlsearch
endif

" Only do this part when compiled with support for autocommands.
if has("autocmd")

  " Enable file type detection.
  " Use the default filetype settings, so that mail gets 'tw' set to 72,
  " 'cindent' is on in C files, etc.
  " Also load indent files, to automatically do language-dependent indenting.
  filetype plugin indent on

  " Put these in an autocmd group, so that we can delete them easily.
  augroup vimrcEx
  au!

  " For all text files set 'textwidth' to 78 characters.
  autocmd FileType text setlocal textwidth=78

  " When editing a file, always jump to the last known cursor position.
  " Don't do it when the position is invalid or when inside an event handler
  " (happens when dropping a file on gvim).
  autocmd BufReadPost *
    \ if line("'\"") > 0 && line("'\"") <= line("$") |
    \   exe "normal g`\"" |
    \ endif

  augroup END

else

  set autoindent                " always set autoindenting on

endif " has("autocmd")




_________________
Arch Linux 2.6.24-ARCH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masinick
Linux Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2024
Posts: 8615
Location: Concord, NH

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2024 10:04 pm    Post subject: Dot is interpreted in Vim, Gvim, and Emacs, not in vi Reply with quote

copycon wrote:
When I invoke vim implicitly I get the same response.

The system I am checking this on is Kubuntu Fiesty


Did you intend to say: "When I invoke vim explicitly I get the same response." ? OR were you saying you are duplicating the results?

On my system, when I explicitly type vim . I get back the response . is a directory, but then I get a display containing all of the files and directories within dot and I can choose one of them, press Enter, and I am then taken to the buffer containing the contents of that file.

IF I say vi . on my system (SimplyMEPIS with MANY editors) I get back . is not a regular file; .: unmodified: line 1

If I say gvim . then I get "." is a directory within a Gvim window but the same selection of files as before.

Just to muddy the waters, if I say emacs . I get what I KNEW I would get - what the original poster was hoping to see - a list of selectable files that can be chosen to edit. This feature invokes what is called dired in Emacs, one of my favorite features. I edit and delete files using this - and it is one reason I rarely use Konqueror or Nautilus or any other file manager, unless I really am feeling in a drag N drop mood. Emacs does it the way I like it! I am not starting a war, though, Vim and Gvim do essentially the same thing, but spit out the message about not being able to edit dot (a reference to the current directory name), which is technically true. Why would you edit dot? However, like the originator, I wanted it to figure out that I want a directory listing of dot, then let me use a chooser to edit the file I want to edit. Isn't that what was originally hoped for?



_________________
Brian Masinick
Distros: SimplyMEPIS
sidux - no CAPS!, antiX, Debian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Command Line Commands All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All content © 2024-2009 - Usa Linux Users Group
This forum is powered by phpBB. © 2024-2009 phpBB Group
Theme created by phpBBStyles.com and modified by Crouse