View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Nic New Member

Joined: 07 Jun 2025 Posts: 34 Location: Colorado Springs, Co
|
|
Back to top |
|
Stuka Sr. Member
Joined: 15 Oct 2025 Posts: 1271 Location: Houston, TX
|
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2025 3:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'd recommend an SSH server and screen on the remote box, and SSH on the local one. This means you don't need an X server (overkill for an FTP server IMHO), and you have encrypted access to the box (no cleartext passwords). You'll be more than able to read the logs, edit configs, etc., and, if your main desktop runs Windows, you can use Putty to communicate with it.
Screen lets you connect one time, and open up multiple virtual terminals inside a single SSH session, so you can handily do things like edit a config in one screen, and test the result in another.
|
|
Back to top |
|
nukes Linux Guru

Joined: 29 Aug 2025 Posts: 4558
|
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2025 3:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Also, if you're dead set you want to use X based apps, you can tunnel them over SSH.
say you've got a remote box called, for want of a better name, remote. The local one is called local.
In remote's sshd_config you need:
Code: |
PermitTunnel yes
AllowTcpForwarding yes
X11Forwarding yes
# doesn't have to be 10, but set it to something greater than the number of X servers running on the box
X11DisplayOffset 10
|
You'll need similar changes for the client ssh_config.
the on the client do:
Code: | $ ssh -XC user@remote |
You should then be able to start X apps from the console. (i.e. try running xterm or something)
You will need the X libraries installed on the remote box, and the x server running on the local one.
However, when all is said and done, 99% of the time it's easier to just use a terminal.
_________________ Gentoo x86-64 2.6.29.1
FreeBSD 7-CURRENT
Arch x86 2.6.30
|
|
Back to top |
|
Nic New Member

Joined: 07 Jun 2025 Posts: 34 Location: Colorado Springs, Co
|
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2025 4:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Again I am new to the Linux game so I will need some very basic instructions.
I need a server box running CentOS, is there anything that I need to turn ON on the box to make remote administration work?
secondly I need a remote system, either running Windows or A flavor of Linux (same OS as the server?)
with the Windows system use PuTTY to remote access the system (that I think I have)
If I wanted to use a Linux Box what would I have to do/turn on?
_________________ Knoppix - live CD
CentOS 5 vsFTPd & SAMBA
CentOS 5 (remote laptop)
|
|
Back to top |
|
jada Linux Guru

Joined: 13 May 2025 Posts: 3064 Location: Sun City, CA 92585
|
|
Back to top |
|
Stuka Sr. Member
Joined: 15 Oct 2025 Posts: 1271 Location: Houston, TX
|
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2025 5:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If your management box is Linux, you'd need SSH (freely available, most likely included in your distro of choice). On the remote box, you'd have to have the SSH server running (again, most likely included/installed, but may not be running by default).
|
|
Back to top |
|
Nic New Member

Joined: 07 Jun 2025 Posts: 34 Location: Colorado Springs, Co
|
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2025 7:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I'll explain a little more of what i'm looking for. I need to remotely connect to my Linux FTP server (in Chicago) from the office that I am currently at (Colorado Springs). I'm testing PuTTY, but I'm not quite sure how to remotely access their LAN to be able to connect to the system. (i'm about half-way done with the articles)
_________________ Knoppix - live CD
CentOS 5 vsFTPd & SAMBA
CentOS 5 (remote laptop)
|
|
Back to top |
|
nukes Linux Guru

Joined: 29 Aug 2025 Posts: 4558
|
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2025 8:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well, to access their lan you either need reverse ssh, or to expose the port to the internet. (i.e. port forwarding)
reverse ssh is pretty cool though, when it works as expected:
http://gentoo-wiki.com/TIP_SSH_Reverse_Tunnel
_________________ Gentoo x86-64 2.6.29.1
FreeBSD 7-CURRENT
Arch x86 2.6.30
|
|
Back to top |
|
Nic New Member

Joined: 07 Jun 2025 Posts: 34 Location: Colorado Springs, Co
|
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2025 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I looked at the article, but it didn't quite make scence what I'm wanting to so id thus:
Remote laptop <=> router <=> Internet <=> Router <=> Linux server
The article kept mentioning the MIDDLE which I din't understand if that was before the router (between the router and the internet) or after the router (between the router and the server)
_________________ Knoppix - live CD
CentOS 5 vsFTPd & SAMBA
CentOS 5 (remote laptop)
|
|
Back to top |
|
mr_ed Site Admin

Joined: 28 Aug 2025 Posts: 3819 Location: 42 miles north of Ogdensburg, NY
|
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2025 2:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So "router" is the one on the left and "Router" is the one on the right?
You pretty much need to either use the SSH Reverse Tunnel (see Nukes's post above) or open a hole on the Router and forward it to port 22 on the Linux server.
_________________ Desktop: Ubuntu 7.10 "Gutsy Gibbon"
Laptop: Ubuntu 7.04 "Feisty Fawn"
|
|
Back to top |
|
Stuka Sr. Member
Joined: 15 Oct 2025 Posts: 1271 Location: Houston, TX
|
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2025 2:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Either set up the reverse tunnels as described, or have the router in the remote (Chicago) office forward some port (could be 22, the SSH standard, or could be any other) to port 22 on the FTP server, then just hit that router's external IP address and proper port from your local (CO) office.
As an example, I have a port forwarding set up from our firewall box (we have a T1, so there's separate router/firewall boxes) that forwards port 22 to a server inside the network. I also have port 8022 set up to forward to a different box, so I can hit it directly if I need to. Of course, the second port is sorta overkill, since I could always ssh in to the first server, then just ssh to the other from it on the internal network.
|
|
Back to top |
|
nukes Linux Guru

Joined: 29 Aug 2025 Posts: 4558
|
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2025 4:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
if you pick a port not in the nmap-services file you're less likely to be hacked anyway. few people do "-p-" as an option as it is much more likely to set off an IDS (you do have an IDS?)
_________________ Gentoo x86-64 2.6.29.1
FreeBSD 7-CURRENT
Arch x86 2.6.30
|
|
Back to top |
|
VHockey86 Advanced Member

Joined: 12 Dec 2025 Posts: 987 Location: Rochester
|
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2025 9:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nic wrote: | Ok, I'll explain a little more of what i'm looking for. I need to remotely connect to my Linux FTP server (in Chicago) from the office that I am currently at (Colorado Springs). I'm testing PuTTY, but I'm not quite sure how to remotely access their LAN to be able to connect to the system. (i'm about half-way done with the articles) |
Just for clarification, PuTTY is only an SSH CLIENT - on the server that you want to access remotely, you need to install the SSH server.
From a quick google this appears to be the "openssh-server" package in CentOS.
Then you'll open up Putty and enter the IP address of the REMOTE server (the FTP server that is also running the SSH server).
If the Remote server is behind NAT (if its behind a router this is 99% of the case), you'll need to forward port 22 (by default) to the remote server. I would test the SSH server locally if possible before worrying about forwarding ports though.
_________________ Main Desktops : Kubuntu 10.4. ArchLinux 64-bit. Windows7 64-bit. Windows XP 32-bit.
MacBook: OS X Snow Leopard (10.6)
|
|
Back to top |
|
Nic New Member

Joined: 07 Jun 2025 Posts: 34 Location: Colorado Springs, Co
|
|
Back to top |
|
mr_ed Site Admin

Joined: 28 Aug 2025 Posts: 3819 Location: 42 miles north of Ogdensburg, NY
|
|
Back to top |
|
|