View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
SteveWilliams BANNED
Joined: 02 Dec 2025 Posts: 412 Location: Wilmer, Texas
|
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 1:03 pm Post subject: Running ps ax In Terminal.... |
|
|
Hi I ran ps ax in terminal an I got lots of info. I am trying to point my browser to the correct port #. First issue is that it has more than 3 numbers second is I have no domain set up on this yet {Just htp://steve:<Port#>}, third: Dunno what one to look at.
I high lighted the citadel in red:
steve@root:~$ ps ax
PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
1 ? Ss 0:01 init [2]
2 ? S 0:00 [migration/0]
3 ? SN 0:00 [ksoftirqd/0]
truncated for length....---------------
1219 ? S< 0:00 [scsi_eh_8]
1220 ? S< 0:00 [usb-storage]
truncated for length....---------------
1219 ? S< 0:00 [scsi_eh_8]
4371 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/smbd -D
4557 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/sbin/gdm
4564 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/gdm
4582 tty7 Ss+ 0:55 /usr/bin/X :0 -dpi 96 -audit 0 -auth /var/lib/gdm/:0. 4610 ? Ss 0:00 /sbin/rpc.statd
4660 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/sbin/ntpd -p /var/run/ntpd.pid -u 105:113 -g
4708 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/local/citadel/citserver -d -h/usr/local/citadel
4709 ? Sl 0:00 /usr/local/citadel/citserver -d -h/usr/local/citadel
4755 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/local/webcit/webserver -D/var/run/webcit-ssl.pid 4756 ? Sl 0:00 /usr/local/webcit/webserver -D/var/run/webcit-ssl.pid 4799 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/sbin/cron
5003 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/sbin/munin-node
5229 tty1 Ss+ 0:00 /sbin/getty 38400 tty1
5230 tty2 Ss+ 0:00 /sbin/getty 38400 tty2
5231 tty3 Ss+
6735 pts/0 Ss 0:00 bash
6746 pts/0 R+ 0:00 ps ax
steve@root:~$
EDIT:
Point your browser to http://localhost:443 and mash Enter.
_________________ DreamLinux 2.2 MME, 2.2 MMGL, UBUNTU 7.04, UBUNTU 7.10, Debian 4.0, 3.0 Desktop Edition, Mint Linux
Last edited by SteveWilliams on Fri Mar 28, 2025 11:26 am; edited 3 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
jbsnake Moderator

Joined: 02 Dec 2025 Posts: 1726 Location: Georgia
|
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 3:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i'm a little lost as to what you are trying to accomplish
_________________ laptop: Arch Linux - Kernel 2.6.24-ARCH
server: Arch Linux - Kernel 2.6.33-ARCH
|
|
Back to top |
|
platinummonkey Advanced Member

Joined: 01 Mar 2025 Posts: 732 Location: Texas
|
|
Back to top |
|
masinick Linux Guru

Joined: 03 Apr 2025 Posts: 8615 Location: Concord, NH
|
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 7:44 pm Post subject: Some explanations and some questions you need to answer |
|
|
In other words, in the previous list, we think the port number is either 4756 or 4799. I think that is an invalid assumption. Based on what I can tell from the output, those are the process IDs associated with two of the websit ssl processes. You cannot see or tell port numbers from this output, or at least I would not count on it. Having a port number that equals the PID is a bad way to design something. A port number should be a fixed number. Often there are two or more of them, usually one for the input side and another for the output side, or one for a TCP connection, another for a IP connection, and similarly for what the application does.
For a standard Web browser, port 80 is the one that is used for standard HTTP, but there is an entirely different port for secure HTTP (known as HTTPS). I don't have that port number memorized.
In general, for each application, there is one or more ports used for each specific function of the application. You need to find that out from the documentation, not from looking at process output. What you get there are called process Identifications or PID. That is what the two numbers that platinummonkey's script nicely finds for you.
So which is it? Do you need to find the PIDs or the Port Numbers? Big difference: Ports are a TCP/IP thing. PIDs are unique to what is running on any given system at any given time.
Hope this helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
tlmiller Ultimate Member

Joined: 01 May 2025 Posts: 2434 Location: MD, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
masinick Linux Guru

Joined: 03 Apr 2025 Posts: 8615 Location: Concord, NH
|
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 10:27 pm Post subject: Nothing to ports, here is where to find them |
|
|
tlmiller wrote: | 443 for https
Thanks to RH300 for that little tidbit.  |
That's right! Had I thought about it a few minute, I could have come up with that one. Port 80 is the standard HTTP port, but I have seen ports 8080 and 8000 frequently used for private HTTP networks, particularly in companies with Firewalls, proprietary information, etc.
You do not have to remember all these port numbers. All you have to remember is one measly file: /etc/services, which defines ALL network services, including their port name and type.
So, for example, ftp-data uses port 20 and the usual ftp uses port 21, ssh uses port 22, the smtp (outbound non secure mail) uses port 25, the time server uses port 37, the pop3 inbound mail uses 110, imap4 uses 143, and on and on.
I didn't even remember the name at first, but I figured I would find it in under five minutes - it took about three. So all it really takes is knowing where to look. Configuration information is in the /etc directory and its subdirectories. Many config files are named .conf. After reviewing inet and a few others, I found it. That is all there is to learning about port names. Now learning how those ports actually WORK is a bit deeper, but for programmers that is not as hard as you may think.
Basically the kernel has implemented the idea of sockets. Various programs utilize those sockets, and both TCP and UDP implement them in special ways. The communication programs themselves at the low level are not all that big, either, though the cruft that has been placed on top of them over the years is probably huge by now. I first took a device driver course in around 1986 and have forgotten all of the deep, inner details, but its just a bunch of code and it makes sense. |
|
Back to top |
|
tlmiller Ultimate Member

Joined: 01 May 2025 Posts: 2434 Location: MD, USA
|
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 11:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, I was hitting /etc/services QUITE heavily during the RHCE test!!! still borked my config on the firewall...but realized I had done that 5 minutes after walking out. Accidentally forgot to open ports for a LOT of the stuff we had to enable!! Oh well, would have failed anyway, and at least I know what I did there!!
_________________ Debian Squeeze, Arch, Kubuntu mostly. Some Mandriva. Some Windows.
Desktops: shadowdragon, medusa
Laptops: bluedrake, banelord, sandwyrm, aardvark.
|
|
Back to top |
|
crouse Site Admin

Joined: 17 Apr 2025 Posts: 11833 Location: Iowa
|
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 3:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Those are PID numbers......... "Process Identification Numbers" ......... NOT port number.
To find port numbers, try running lsof.
Example:
Code: |
[root@VistaCrusher5 ~]# lsof -Pnl +M -i4
COMMAND PID USER FD TYPE DEVICE SIZE NODE NAME
ntpd 3583 87 3u IPv4 12618 UDP 192.168.1.100:53225->208.113.193.9:123
ntpd 3583 87 5u IPv4 15715 UDP 192.168.1.100:54782->64.85.165.96:123
ntpd 3583 87 6u IPv4 11820 UDP 192.168.1.100:44600->208.68.160.23:123
ntpd 3583 87 7u IPv4 14657 UDP 192.168.1.100:38772->217.160.254.116:123
ntpd 3583 87 8u IPv4 11822 UDP 192.168.1.100:56189->205.134.191.194:123
sshd 3610 0 3u IPv4 6778 TCP *:XXXXX (LISTEN)
cupsd 3617 0 3u IPv4 7005 TCP 127.0.0.1:631 (LISTEN)
cupsd 3617 0 4u IPv4 7006 UDP *:631
|
_________________ Veronica - Arch Linux 64-bit -- Kernel 2.6.33.4-1
Archie/Jughead - Arch Linux 32-bit -- Kernel 2.6.33.4-1
Betty/Reggie - Arch Linux (VBox) 32-bit -- Kernel 2.6.33.4-1
BumbleBee - OpenSolaris-SunOS 5.11
|
|
Back to top |
|
SteveWilliams BANNED
Joined: 02 Dec 2025 Posts: 412 Location: Wilmer, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 7:17 pm Post subject: ps ax In Terminal. Try this code ?..... |
|
|
Brian
Dave is right. I need to find the port # cuz the gui won't fire up with out it {Runs in Terminal ok though} and I got some type of screwy thing going on now cuz the gui worked great the very first time.
Dave ~ dunno how to run that code you mentioned. I'll try to research it first before I ask you to print the entire thing out. Hopefully it is fairly commonly used.
Thanks for all the replies. BTW: This will eventually help me log into Citadels GUI again. I really don't care for checking my mail in Terminal. At least not yet anyway.
_________________ DreamLinux 2.2 MME, 2.2 MMGL, UBUNTU 7.04, UBUNTU 7.10, Debian 4.0, 3.0 Desktop Edition, Mint Linux
|
|
Back to top |
|
SteveWilliams BANNED
Joined: 02 Dec 2025 Posts: 412 Location: Wilmer, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 7:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Dave !
Sorry for thong post. Please delete what is not necessary.
lsof> Enter got:
libnss_nis-2.3.6.so
bonobo-ac 5464 steve mem REG 8,2 30428 3260426 /lib/tls/libnss_compat-2.3.6.so
bonobo-ac 5464 steve mem REG 8,2 9436 3687554
lsof 9270 steve mem REG 8,2 88164 2640168 /lib/ld-2.3.6.so
lsof 9270 steve 4r FIFO 0,5 32240 pipe
lsof 9270 steve 7w FIFO 0,5 32241 pipe
steve@root:~$
Please advise
_________________ DreamLinux 2.2 MME, 2.2 MMGL, UBUNTU 7.04, UBUNTU 7.10, Debian 4.0, 3.0 Desktop Edition, Mint Linux
Last edited by SteveWilliams on Fri Mar 28, 2025 11:19 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
jbsnake Moderator

Joined: 02 Dec 2025 Posts: 1726 Location: Georgia
|
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 10:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
instead of just lsof... why not run it the same way you see Dave running it? with the same flags (lsof -Pnl +M -i4)... you still havn't mentioned what you are trying to do... you said you needed a port... but not in relation to anything other than citadel... can you give some specifics...
here... perhaps you can fill in the blanks:
"I am looking for a port number that is opened when I use the command ___________." or "The way I run the command is ___________________. " or "Here are the detailed steps I perform just before things go wrong: __________________________________________________________________________________________".
_________________ laptop: Arch Linux - Kernel 2.6.24-ARCH
server: Arch Linux - Kernel 2.6.33-ARCH
|
|
Back to top |
|
SteveWilliams BANNED
Joined: 02 Dec 2025 Posts: 412 Location: Wilmer, Texas
|
Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2025 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
jbsnake wrote: | instead of just lsof... why not run it the same way you see Dave running it? with the same flags (lsof -Pnl +M -i4)... you still havn't mentioned what you are trying to do... you said you needed a port... but not in relation to anything other than citadel... can you give some specifics...
here... perhaps you can fill in the blanks:
"I am looking for a port number that is opened when I use the command ___________." or "The way I run the command is ___________________. " or "Here are the detailed steps I perform just before things go wrong: __________________________________________________________________________________________". |
JBSnake
I'm sorry jbsnake, I was trying to figure that out so I could answer you.
Basically the browser should open up Citadel if it is still on port 443 and I hoped I could find out if that port was still being used after a few installs and then if it was track down the reason why the GUI won't start.
As it turns out, it has to do with the word root not with port. Using the word local host is the issue not the port.
Again I apologise for the error.
Right now I just need to add the domain and make sure I do stuff in the right order so I can be sure to not mess it up and CREATE an issue
Thank you thank you thank you !
steve@root:~$ lsof -Pnl +M -i4
steve@root:~$
_________________ DreamLinux 2.2 MME, 2.2 MMGL, UBUNTU 7.04, UBUNTU 7.10, Debian 4.0, 3.0 Desktop Edition, Mint Linux
|
|
Back to top |
|
|