USA Linux Users Group Forum Index
Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search USA Linux Users Group Forum Index Album

Naming your partitions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Command Line Commands
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JP
Linux Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2024
Posts: 6670
Location: Central Montana

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2024 8:18 pm    Post subject: Naming your partitions Reply with quote

I'm using R.I.P. Linux to try to recover my sidux install. I can mount any of the partitions, change size, change filesystems, etc, but I would like to make hda4 to be my /home partition so I can transfer all of my /home stuff onto hda4. Is there any way I can name hda4 to be my /home/JP from the command line? I've looked at cfdisk, parted, and gparted (all on the RIP disk), but none of them offers me the option to name the partition.



_________________
Dell Box - Arch Linux
Dell Lappy - DreamLinux 3.5 - Default OS
Mepis 8.0 - Backup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
platinummonkey
Advanced Member


Joined: 01 Mar 2024
Posts: 732
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2024 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

er, the /home is a mount point. that can be changed by either using the mount command, or editing your ftsab to mount as /home Razz



_________________
desktop - FreeBSD 7.2
laptop & server - Archlinux i686 kernel26 2.6.32.10-1
- TAMULinux-2.0.2-ALPHA
USB Boot - Archlinux i686 kernel26 2.6.32.10-1 USB boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
JP
Linux Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2024
Posts: 6670
Location: Central Montana

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2024 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

platinummonkey wrote:
er, the /home is a mount point. that can be changed by either using the mount command, or editing your ftsab to mount as /home Razz


That lost me, I think ...... despite the numerous posts, I'm neither a geek or guru ...... I need to read about that .... editing the /etc/fstab I might be able to figure out, but I don't understand how I can mount hda4 as /home ..... a little help would be appreciated Wink THX

I'm using slax now, because Midnight Commander was not working for me ...... I tried xterm and there was virtually nothing in the /etc/fstab, so I don't think I was mounting the partition correctly.

Kate can't find hda1, only hda4 & hda6 Sad and the stuff I wrote down the last time I had to mount was using the slax disk , but now it doesn't work at all.

I can find lots of info in my books on mounting floppies and cdroms, but nothing on actually mounting partitions, or naming them for mount points.

Code:
root@slax:~# mkdir /mnt/hda1
root@slax:~# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1,
       or too many mounted file systems



_________________
Dell Box - Arch Linux
Dell Lappy - DreamLinux 3.5 - Default OS
Mepis 8.0 - Backup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Germ
Keeper of the BIG STICK


Joined: 30 Apr 2024
Posts: 12452
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2024 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To see exactly what partitions you have:
Code:
fdisk -l


In fstab there should be a line like: /dev/hda4 /mnt/foo bla bla bla

To mount hda4 as /mnt/home make it look like: /dev/hda4 /mnt/home bla bla bla

Just make sure /mnt/home actually exists

hda4 is the device name of the partition.
/mnt/home is the directory to mount it in.



_________________
Laptop: Mandriva 2024 PowerPack - 2.6.33.5-0.2mnb
Desktop: Mandriva 2024 Free - kernel 2.6.33.2-1mib
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
platinummonkey
Advanced Member


Joined: 01 Mar 2024
Posts: 732
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2024 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here for an example of an fstab

man mount Wink

the correct way to mount something:
Code:
mount -vt <format of partition> /dev/<device name> /path/to/mount/point -o <some options found in the man page if you want>
dont type the <'s and >'s Razz and make sure the mount point already exists (meaning create an empty folder at that mount point)

the format for most linux partitions is going to either be ext2 or ext3, with the possibility of others; however, i doubt you chose one of those Wink Razz

-----------------------
also to see a listing of partition names without fdisk you can issue:
Code:
### either

ls /dev | grep hd

# or

ls /dev | grep sd
the difference is the how your devices are named, i wouldn't expect to see both give output Razz



_________________
desktop - FreeBSD 7.2
laptop & server - Archlinux i686 kernel26 2.6.32.10-1
- TAMULinux-2.0.2-ALPHA
USB Boot - Archlinux i686 kernel26 2.6.32.10-1 USB boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
JP
Linux Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2024
Posts: 6670
Location: Central Montana

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2024 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've followed several "tutorials" on that subject platinummonkey but none seem to work. For instance:
1. how do I <mkdir /mnt/home> on sda4 ? (thanks for that <ls /dev | grep sd> command Wink )
2. I tried <mount -vt ext3 /dev/sda4 /mnt/home> and the response I got was <mount: mount point /mnt/home does not exist> And I thought I had already created the directory, mount point, etc.



_________________
Dell Box - Arch Linux
Dell Lappy - DreamLinux 3.5 - Default OS
Mepis 8.0 - Backup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tlmiller
Ultimate Member


Joined: 01 May 2024
Posts: 2432
Location: MD, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2024 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. You wouldn't actually MAKE /mnt/home on sda4. You'd (as root)

mkdir /mnt/home
mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/home -o yaddah yaddah

2. Double check that /mnt/home DOES exist, and that nothing is already mounted there (ie - empty directory)



_________________
Debian Squeeze, Arch, Kubuntu mostly. Some Mandriva. Some Windows.
Desktops: shadowdragon, medusa
Laptops: bluedrake, banelord, sandwyrm, aardvark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
JP
Linux Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2024
Posts: 6670
Location: Central Montana

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2024 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's exactly what I did, three times, and it still doesn't show up Confused Sad Sad



_________________
Dell Box - Arch Linux
Dell Lappy - DreamLinux 3.5 - Default OS
Mepis 8.0 - Backup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tlmiller
Ultimate Member


Joined: 01 May 2024
Posts: 2432
Location: MD, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2024 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

and fdisk -l does list /dev/sda4 as a Linux partition? doing an ls of /mnt does show home as a directory?



_________________
Debian Squeeze, Arch, Kubuntu mostly. Some Mandriva. Some Windows.
Desktops: shadowdragon, medusa
Laptops: bluedrake, banelord, sandwyrm, aardvark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
JP
Linux Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2024
Posts: 6670
Location: Central Montana

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2024 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tlmiller wrote:
and fdisk -l does list /dev/sda4 as a Linux partition? doing an ls of /mnt does show home as a directory?


sda4 is a 20Gb partition ..... #ls mnt shows nothing.



_________________
Dell Box - Arch Linux
Dell Lappy - DreamLinux 3.5 - Default OS
Mepis 8.0 - Backup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JP
Linux Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2024
Posts: 6670
Location: Central Montana

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2024 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, out of frustration, I tried it again ...... now I have a /home in /mount Very Happy Very Happy
so right now I am doing
Code:
root@sidux:/mnt mv /home JP /mnt/home

I wanted to move them, rather than copy them.

EDIT: Good News! Tim, I have gone through the whole gamut of /mnt and all of my /home/JP files are there (or seem to be). Very Happy Very Happy



_________________
Dell Box - Arch Linux
Dell Lappy - DreamLinux 3.5 - Default OS
Mepis 8.0 - Backup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tlmiller
Ultimate Member


Joined: 01 May 2024
Posts: 2432
Location: MD, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2024 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news indeed!!



_________________
Debian Squeeze, Arch, Kubuntu mostly. Some Mandriva. Some Windows.
Desktops: shadowdragon, medusa
Laptops: bluedrake, banelord, sandwyrm, aardvark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
masinick
Linux Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2024
Posts: 8615
Location: Concord, NH

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2024 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good job JP! Stick with it!

Any success on determining whether you have a bad memory stick - as Anti was suspecting? Memory is REAL cheap right now. Given that you can get USB sticks with a couple GB for $10-20 I suspect that system RAM is not that much more expensive. Problem is, you have to find the right type for your system.



_________________
Brian Masinick
Distros: SimplyMEPIS
sidux - no CAPS!, antiX, Debian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
JP
Linux Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2024
Posts: 6670
Location: Central Montana

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2024 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm going to be looking in to that, THX.



_________________
Dell Box - Arch Linux
Dell Lappy - DreamLinux 3.5 - Default OS
Mepis 8.0 - Backup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JP
Linux Guru


Joined: 07 Jul 2024
Posts: 6670
Location: Central Montana

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2024 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tlmiller wrote:
Good news indeed!!


Any idea how to undo this Tim?



_________________
Dell Box - Arch Linux
Dell Lappy - DreamLinux 3.5 - Default OS
Mepis 8.0 - Backup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Command Line Commands All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All content © 2024-2009 - Usa Linux Users Group
This forum is powered by phpBB. © 2024-2009 phpBB Group
Theme created by phpBBStyles.com and modified by Crouse