USA Linux Users Group Forum Index

Choosing a Distro before installing help...

Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Installation and Bootloaders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Shadow Puppet

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2024 4:19 am    Post subject: Choosing a Distro before installing help... Reply with quote

Hi, I am new to USA LUG and hope I can get some help here. I've read a few forums and I have seen it posted on different ones that Linux is better for programming then Windows is, or well Linux is more preferred. So i was wandering is there anyway that I can run a live CD(I need suggestions for one by the way) and also run a program off my hard drive.(I lost my USB flash drive and cant afford another one right now) So if you could help me out with this I would highly appreciate all the help and responses. Smile Also if there are any spelling errors in this can you please leave a post so i can fix them. Thanks again.

pbharris

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2024 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello shadow,
Welcome to USA LUG!
Well I am fedora fan and like Fedora Live -> http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora
You can download the CD/DVD, boot it and it will run quite nicely without actually installing it to your hard drive. It has worked very nicely for me. If you like I am sure someone could mail you a CD/DVD free of charge. It is as simple as popping the CD in, rebooting the the box making sure you are booting from the CD drive and the selecting the live option.

Ubuntu is also popular and has this option:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/LiveCD

for spelling - try using firefox 3 - it has built in spell checker when you are filling out forms.

mushroom
Ultimate Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2024 5:24 am    Post subject: Re: Choosing a Distro before installing help... Reply with quote

Shadow Puppet wrote:
and also run a program off my hard drive.

That could be a hard one Confused