USA Linux Users Group Forum Index

Never used Linux, Help!
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Installation and Bootloaders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
creg

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2024 7:07 pm    Post subject: Never used Linux, Help! Reply with quote

Wink Hi, I am a Linux newbie. I would like to install Linux as a virtual install, is that possible? I have Virtual PC installed on my Vista machine already and the virtuall OS is XP Home Edition. Where do I get the install for Linux and what flavor is best for beginners?

masinick
Linux Guru

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2024 7:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Never used Linux, Help! Reply with quote

creg wrote:
Wink Hi, I am a Linux newbie. I would like to install Linux as a virtual install, is that possible? I have Virtual PC installed on my Vista machine already and the virtual OS is XP Home Edition. Where do I get the install for Linux and what flavor is best for beginners?

creg, Welcome to the USALUG!

I am not specifically familiar with "Virtual PC". I have used Virtualbox OSE, however, to access multiple operating systems running in a "virtual machine" environment, and I presume that is what "Virtual PC" does as well.

If my assumption is accurate, then locating any Linux distribution and trying it out would probably work well in that environment. What you want to do is find an ISO formatted system image for any number of different Linux distros, and give a few of them a try.

In my signature are links to a couple of distributions that I personally like. Right now, I favor SimplyMEPIS over all other distributions because it is easy to install (or even to run directly from the CD without even installing it). You could either install this software in your virtual machine, or just insert the CD and reboot your system and run it off the Live CD.