View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tlmiller Ultimate Member

Joined: 01 May 2025 Posts: 2434 Location: MD, USA
|
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2025 12:53 am Post subject: Amarok 2 hangs |
|
|
Ok, on all of my OS's that have converted to kde4.3, sidux, Debian sid, and Arch, when I attempt to scan my collection of mp3's, it gets to 93% and hangs. Starting with the amarok --debug I get:
Code: | QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
Object::connect: No such signal KLineEdit::downPressed()
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
QPainter::translate: Painter not active
QPainter::end: Painter not active, aborted
amarok: ************************************************************************************************************
amarok: ** DEBUGGING OUTPUT IS NOW ENABLED. PLEASE NOTE THAT YOU WILL ONLY SEE THE FULL OUTPUT ON THE NEXT START. **
amarok: ************************************************************************************************************
amarok: END__: static void App::handleCliArgs() - Took 0.00016s
amarok: END__: virtual int App::newInstance() - Took 0.00023s
amarok: BEGIN: void DatabaseUpdater::createTemporaryTables()
amarok: [ERROR!] GREPME MySQLe query failed! Specified key was too long; max key length is 1000 bytes on "CREATE UNIQUE INDEX urls_id_rpath_temp ON urls_temp(deviceid, rpath);"
[tim@medusa ~]$ amarok: END__: void DatabaseUpdater::createTemporaryTables() - Took 0.02s
amarok: [MountPointManager] [WARNING!] NOT-IMPLEMENTED: void MountPointManager::startStatisticsUpdateJob()
amarok: BEGIN: SvgHandler::SvgHandler(QObject*)
amarok: END__: SvgHandler::SvgHandler(QObject*) - Took 0.0001s
amarok: BEGIN: bool AmarokScript::ScriptImporter::loadQtBinding(const QString&)
amarok: importing qt bindings "qt.network"
amarok: END__: bool AmarokScript::ScriptImporter::loadQtBinding(const QString&) - Took 0.019s
amarok: BEGIN: void DaapCollectionFactory::connectToManualServers()
amarok: END__: void DaapCollectionFactory::connectToManualServers() - Took 0.00031s
amarok: BEGIN: bool AmarokScript::ScriptImporter::loadQtBinding(const QString&)
amarok: importing qt bindings "qt.gui"
amarok: END__: bool AmarokScript::ScriptImporter::loadQtBinding(const QString&) - Took 0.059s
amarok: BEGIN: void CurrentEngine::stoppedState()
amarok: END__: void CurrentEngine::stoppedState() - Took 0.0018s
amarok: BEGIN: void CurrentTrack::dataUpdated(const QString&, const QHash<QString, QVariant>&)
amarok: END__: void CurrentTrack::dataUpdated(const QString&, const QHash<QString, QVariant>&) - Took 0.00027s
amarok: BEGIN: void CurrentEngine::setupTracksData()
amarok: END__: void CurrentEngine::setupTracksData() - Took 0.00016s
amarok: BEGIN: void CurrentTrack::dataUpdated(const QString&, const QHash<QString, QVariant>&)
amarok: END__: void CurrentTrack::dataUpdated(const QString&, const QHash<QString, QVariant>&) - Took 0.00018s
amarok: SCRIPT "Librivox.org" : "creating service..."
amarok: BEGIN: static QScriptValue ScriptableServiceScript::ScriptableServiceScript_prototype_ctor(QScriptContext*, QScriptEngine*)
amarok: BEGIN: bool ScriptableServiceManager::initService(const QString&, int, const QString&, const QString&, bool)
amarok: initializing scripted service: "Librivox.org"
amarok: BEGIN: ServiceBase::ServiceBase(const QString&, ServiceFactory*, bool, const QString&)
amarok: END__: ServiceBase::ServiceBase(const QString&, ServiceFactory*, bool, const QString&) - Took 0.0022s
amarok: BEGIN: void ServiceBase::setIcon(const QIcon&)
amarok: END__: void ServiceBase::setIcon(const QIcon&) - Took 4e-05s
amarok: BEGIN: void ScriptableService::init(int, const QString&, bool)
amarok: BEGIN: ScriptableServiceCollection::ScriptableServiceCollection(const QString&)
amarok: END__: ScriptableServiceCollection::ScriptableServiceCollection(const QString&) - Took 4.2e-05s
amarok: END__: void ScriptableService::init(int, const QString&, bool) - Took 0.00013s
amarok: END__: bool ScriptableServiceManager::initService(const QString&, int, const QString&, const QString&, bool) - Took 0.0027s
amarok: END__: static QScriptValue ScriptableServiceScript::ScriptableServiceScript_prototype_ctor(QScriptContext*, QScriptEngine*) - Took 0.0029s
amarok: SCRIPT "Librivox.org" : "done creating service!"
amarok: BEGIN: void ScriptableServiceScript::slotCustomize(const QString&)
amarok: SCRIPT "Librivox.org" : "customizing Librivox service"
amarok: SCRIPT "Librivox.org" : "loading icon: /usr/share/apps/amarok/scripts/librivox_service/LibrivoxIcon.png"
amarok: BEGIN: void ScriptableServiceManager::setIcon(const QString&, const QPixmap&)
amarok: service: "Librivox.org"
amarok: BEGIN: void ServiceBase::setIcon(const QIcon&)
amarok: END__: void ServiceBase::setIcon(const QIcon&) - Took 3.7e-05s
amarok: END__: void ScriptableServiceManager::setIcon(const QString&, const QPixmap&) - Took 0.0002s
amarok: END__: void ScriptableServiceScript::slotCustomize(const QString&) - Took 0.0019s
amarok: END__: bool ScriptManager::slotRunScript(QString, bool) - Took 0.75s
amarok: BEGIN: bool ScriptManager::slotRunScript(QString, bool)
amarok: BEGIN: void ScriptManager::startScriptEngine(QString)
amarok: BEGIN: ScriptableServiceScript::ScriptableServiceScript(QScriptEngine*)
amarok: END__: ScriptableServiceScript::ScriptableServiceScript(QScriptEngine*) - Took 9.1e-05s
amarok: BEGIN: Downloader::Downloader(QScriptEngine*)
amarok: END__: Downloader::Downloader(QScriptEngine*) - Took 9.4e-05s
amarok: END__: void ScriptManager::startScriptEngine(QString) - Took 0.0012s
amarok: BEGIN: bool AmarokScript::ScriptImporter::loadQtBinding(const QString&)
amarok: importing qt bindings "qt.core"
amarok: END__: bool AmarokScript::ScriptImporter::loadQtBinding(const QString&) - Took 0.031s
amarok: BEGIN: bool AmarokScript::ScriptImporter::loadQtBinding(const QString&)
amarok: importing qt bindings "qt.xml"
amarok: END__: bool AmarokScript::ScriptImporter::loadQtBinding(const QString&) - Took 0.016s
amarok: END__: bool ScriptManager::slotRunScript(QString, bool) - Took 0.058s
amarok: END__: void ScriptManager::slotConfigChanged(bool) - Took 0.82s
amarok: END__: void ScriptManager::findScripts() - Took 0.84s
amarok: Success. Committing result to database.
amarok: BEGIN: void ScanManager::slotFinished()
amarok: END__: void ScanManager::slotFinished() - Took 0.00012s |
then it does nothing until I kill it. Never gives any specific errors. Anyone ever seen this, or even better, know how I can get it to successfully scan my collections?
Amarok 1.4 on Debian Squeeze still works absolutely perfectly.
_________________ Debian Squeeze, Arch, Kubuntu mostly. Some Mandriva. Some Windows.
Desktops: shadowdragon, medusa
Laptops: bluedrake, banelord, sandwyrm, aardvark.
|
|
Back to top |
|
nukes Linux Guru

Joined: 29 Aug 2025 Posts: 4558
|
|
Back to top |
|
tlmiller Ultimate Member

Joined: 01 May 2025 Posts: 2434 Location: MD, USA
|
Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2025 6:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
amarok 1.4 is no longer in Arch repositories or Debian SID, so while I can keep it in old instalations, anything new will have 2.
_________________ Debian Squeeze, Arch, Kubuntu mostly. Some Mandriva. Some Windows.
Desktops: shadowdragon, medusa
Laptops: bluedrake, banelord, sandwyrm, aardvark.
|
|
Back to top |
|
jada Linux Guru

Joined: 13 May 2025 Posts: 3064 Location: Sun City, CA 92585
|
Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2025 12:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
tlmiller wrote: | amarok 1.4 is no longer in Arch repositories or Debian SID, so while I can keep it in old instalations, anything new will have 2. |
I seen this too, on my openSUSE 11.1 KDE 4.3.0 Desktop. After removing kdelibs3, kdebase3 packages with all there dependencies, deleting the /home/username/.kde amd /home/username/.kde4 it works.
kde 4.3.x is going now to replace kde3. Depend on your distro you found in your home folder /.kde & .kde4 or /.kde & kde3!
What new! All KDE 4.3.x applications will depend on "KDE".
Take a look on your Amarok2 build where is depend on.
I recommend to delete in your home folder .kde and .kde3/4 !
About debian SID (SIDUX). They need there time to rebuild all packages
Fedore 11 has now the experimantel KDE 4.3.0 in testing. Every single packages what is called kde4-xyz need to be rebuild to xyz Stand Alone. There will be no parallel kde3 - kde4 install anymore. |
|
Back to top |
|
tlmiller Ultimate Member

Joined: 01 May 2025 Posts: 2434 Location: MD, USA
|
Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2025 12:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Which I can understand honestly since 4.2.4. It finally was robust enough that there was no reason to keep kde 3.5 around anymore. It had a long run, and was a great desktop, but KDE 4 FINALLY had gotten to the point where it was truly equal on almost everything, and superior to it in many ways. I'm definitely liking 4.3...just reinstalled one of my laptops with it (on Arch amd64)this morning, and while the laptop is horribly slow (not sure why, it's slower in EVERY OS on here though than it's specs say it should be), it's running flawlessly other than amarok2 absolutely refusing to do anything but hang (no .kde since it's a fully kde4 install) and I've deleted the .kde4 folder about 30 times. I'm using juk to get around. It's lousy compared to amarok with it's all or nothing playlists, but at least it can read the folder contents without locking up!!!
_________________ Debian Squeeze, Arch, Kubuntu mostly. Some Mandriva. Some Windows.
Desktops: shadowdragon, medusa
Laptops: bluedrake, banelord, sandwyrm, aardvark.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|