USA Linux Users Group Forum Index

PCLOS 2024.2 LiveCD gives "no suitable media" erro

Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Installation and Bootloaders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
julian516

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2024 7:28 pm    Post subject: PCLOS 2024.2 LiveCD gives "no suitable media" erro Reply with quote

I have been fooling with livecds for probably 2 years at least and I have encountered an error I have never seen before.

I downloaded the PCLOS 2024.2 livecd and burned it. No issues. MD5sums checked, etc.

I put the livecd in my System76/Ubuntu laptop and loaded it. Partway through an error message came up:

"ERROR: No suitable media for the livecd content found. Workaround: Copy the content of the livecd from your boot device to an IDE/SATA disk. Dropping you to a limited shell."

Now, I burn and look at livecds frequently on this machine and I have no trouble doing it. But OK, something is wrong .....

So I went over to the wife's Windows XP desktop (I do this at great peril you understand), put the livecd in the drive and it loaded up quite nicely! And an attractive livecd it is. Now we know it is a good disk.

So back to the System76 laptop. I tried "Safemode Vesa" and it booted, so my suspicion is that this has something to do with the xserver and/or my Nvidia 9300M circuits?

Has anybody else ever seen this error and do you know what it means? For example, what is the "suitable media" that cannot be found?

Thanks for the help!

lynch

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2024 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have heard of that. It is likely to be the CD drive does not read the CD correctly.
Check this out: link

melloe
Ultimate Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2024 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote