USA Linux Users Group Forum Index
Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search USA Linux Users Group Forum Index Album

two computers with one spanning desktop?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Networking
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
samwichse
Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2024
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2024 3:47 pm    Post subject: two computers with one spanning desktop? Reply with quote

I heard a few months ago about some software that allowed you two have two computers with two monitors connected to each other by ethernet so that they had one spanning desktop.

ie: you move your mouse off the right side of the screen and the keyboard and mouse are grabbed by the other computer across the network and you're working on that monitor with the same keyboard and mouse.

Like this:

Code:

Monitor                 Monitor
Computer1 -->ethernet-->Computer2
    |
   \/
Keyboard
Mouse


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DocZayus
Ultimate Member


Joined: 15 Feb 2024
Posts: 2199
Location: Fredericton, New Brunswick

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2024 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is interesting!

I've heard of sharing a desktop, where the PC1 would carry the CPU load, and PC2 would carry the video load.
I had seen it done with a Gentoo setupo a few years ago at a LUG meeting, but didn't get to delve into it much, since I was helping someone install Ubuntu...



_________________
Sabayon
Vista
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
samwichse
Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2024
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2024 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, after some more searching, I found XDMX does this for Linux only... but I could almost swear someone was talking (may have been on slashdot) about doing the same with WindowsXP (on which I have to use ArcMap, a program that's MUCH slower under VMware).

Anyone know anything?

Sam


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rootboy
Sr. Member


Joined: 11 Aug 2024
Posts: 1947
Location: Lewisburg, Tennessee

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2024 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw it done at Phreaknic this fall. It was on a Kubuntu box if I recall correctly.

3dward might remember more details, he was working with the guy from the Nashville Users Group that was working on it.

Send a shoutout to him and see if he remembers what was going on.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nukes
Linux Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2024
Posts: 4558

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2024 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use Synergy ( http://synergy2.sourceforge.net/ ) to share the keyboard/mouse between multiple computers. Really cool bit of code. Works between Linux/Unix/Windows and OSX. Wink
It won't move apps between them, but it's better than a KVM or having many keyboards/mice on your desk. You can configure it in any configuration you want. (layout of desktops etc)



_________________
Gentoo x86-64 2.6.29.1
FreeBSD 7-CURRENT
Arch x86 2.6.30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
samwichse
Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2024
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2024 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's it! That's exactly what I was looking for, thanks nukes!


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nukes
Linux Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2024
Posts: 4558

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2024 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wink



_________________
Gentoo x86-64 2.6.29.1
FreeBSD 7-CURRENT
Arch x86 2.6.30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
lberg
Sr. Member


Joined: 28 Jul 2024
Posts: 1289

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2024 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nifty!! I might have to try it! But I don't really have 2 computers worth using...........haha. I have my custom build, and then a 300 mhz OEM Dell.



_________________
2 Computers: Arch Linux, 64-bit
3 Computers: Arch Linux, 32-bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nukes
Linux Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2024
Posts: 4558

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2024 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I was in halls, I had it between my desktop and laptop, just so I didn't have to sit up to do something on it.
Something to watch out for though. If you have a number of systems, the control won't come in until X is up and running, along with the client (put it in ~/.kde/Autostart or ~/.fluxbox/init). The thing is, if something happens that requires intervention at boot time, you'll have to hook a keyboard up to the machine (which will screw up your, finally organized, desk)



_________________
Gentoo x86-64 2.6.29.1
FreeBSD 7-CURRENT
Arch x86 2.6.30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
samwichse
Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2024
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2024 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man, synergy is AWESOME.

Very easy setup too...


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calcifer
New Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2024 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi board!

I'm a delighted synergy user, too. As I am using my notebook at home and at work and at both places want to use synergy through a ssh tunnel (remember that passwords you type get transfered unencrypted to the synergy client if you don't tunnel through ssh), I wrapped the process of establishing the tunnel and starting synergy into a small shell script.

Beware that I am probably not a particularly good shell script coder and if you use it any ssh tunnels on port 24800 will get killed to make the port free for the new tunnel, but maybe it's still useful for anyone or maybe someone has any suggestions for me on how to do it better. So here's the code:

Code:

#!/bin/bash

E_USAGE=65

port="24800"
synergy_client_process=`which synergyc`

################################################################################

function usage() {
  echo "Usage: $0 <synergy_server_hostname>"
}

# wrong args
[ $# -ne 1 ] && usage && exit $E_USAGE

synergy_server=$1
pattern="ssh.*$port"

if [ `pgrep -d "." -f "$pattern"` ]; then
  echo "ssh port forwarding already active on port 24800."
  echo "I will kill these processes."
  pkill -f "$pattern"
fi

echo "Activating port forwarding through ssh on port $port."
ssh -f -N -L $port:${synergy_server}:$port $synergy_server

if [ `pgrep -d "." -f "$synergy_client_process"` ]; then
  echo "synergy client instance already running."
  echo "I will kill it."
  pkill $synergy_client_process
fi

echo "Starting synergy client instance."
$synergy_client_process localhost

exit 0


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nukes
Linux Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2024
Posts: 4558

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2024 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey calcifer, Welcome to USALUG Wink

Thanks for sharing that as well Very Happy



_________________
Gentoo x86-64 2.6.29.1
FreeBSD 7-CURRENT
Arch x86 2.6.30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
calcifer
New Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nukes wrote:
Hey calcifer, Welcome to USALUG Wink


Thanks. It's a nice board you have here Smile


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
masinick
Linux Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2024
Posts: 8615
Location: Concord, NH

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have heard of (and seen in action) multi-headed displays - where an X server is able to display to the :0 (default display) or the :1 (second display) - never actually have seen more than two in action, wonder if more are possible?

Concerning this particular effort, it seems to be something different entirely and is very interesting indeed. Will monitor this thread and others for more information.



_________________
Brian Masinick
Distros: SimplyMEPIS
sidux - no CAPS!, antiX, Debian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
calcifer
New Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

masinick wrote:

Concerning this particular effort, it seems to be something different entirely and is very interesting indeed. Will monitor this thread and others for more information.


You are right: multi-head setup is like 1 computer and 1+n displays, whereas synergy is like 1 keyboard/mouse and 1+n computers. It's more like a KVM switch solution without KVM switch and without the 'V'. You can of course mix both: I have a desktop computer with a two-display multi-head setup and a notebook on one desk, so I am able to move the mouse over the two screens of the desktop thanks to multi-head and further onto the notebook. But you cannot move windows from the desktop displays to the notebook, you just share the input devices over TCP/IP...


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    USA Linux Users Group Forum Index » Networking All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All content © 2024-2009 - Usa Linux Users Group
This forum is powered by phpBB. © 2024-2009 phpBB Group
Theme created by phpBBStyles.com and modified by Crouse